Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

you

“You didn’t walk in here for books, Beck. You didn’t have to say my name. You didn’t have to smile or listen or take me in. But you did. Your signature is on the receipt. This wasn’t a cash transaction and it wasn’t a coded debit. This was real. I press my thumb into the wet ink on your receipt and the ink of Guinevere Beck stains my skin.”

This is Caroline’s first novel and I do want to give her a standing ovation for the execution of You. It’s a different kind of read! Our protagonist, a book-selling stalker who goes by the name of Joe, is completely crazy – for the girl of his dreams! She just doesn’t know it yet! And the careful planning that goes into his passionate adoration for her (and the inevitable need he has of her falling for him) is the perfect read this Valentines day if one were to searching for that special something that would make them swear off significant others for the rest of their time here on Earth.

This novel will put you at the edge of your recliner. Granted, your apprehension won’t be from much of a thrill as it will be for the foreboding sense that someone, somewhere is watching you ALL THE TIME.

In all seriousness though – I enjoyed this book. And while the cursing in it seemed excessive it didn’t seem as though you were trying to be shocked with vulgarity. You’re in Joe’s head so much and it is so a part of him that it just makes sense. Sometimes you’re not sure if Joe really is all that bad, even. Which is a huge kudos to C.K. – I struggle immensely with trying to balance the line of reader/character connection.

My only gripes come from some lulls of narrative/inner monologues that are too whiny. I felt like there could have been more cutting of Joe’s woes about every little thing, it felt like it pulled away from the goal. There are also a few loose ends that I won’t spoil. But even those things don’t feel so objective because this story is so much more about him and less about the people around him. Get ready to be Joe. And to be so carefully in love.

All in all, I’d give it a 8/10. It kept my attention, it did its job. I wish I’d walked away with a little more but I’m still impressed with the overall idea. C.K. is definitely on the fast track to some really fantastic writing if she digs just a little deeper.

Leave a comment